The 27 Day Challenge of Excellence

The past couple of months have been somewhat of a roller-coaster ride for me. Really, I guess you could say that about 2013 in general, but things seemed to have come to a head in late August, early September.
I did some soul searching, which is never an easy thing (if you’re doing it right) and made some tough decisions, with some even tougher choices being the result.
For the last week or so, I’ve felt like I survived a free fall of sorts. A little broken, a lot bruised. Uncertain of my surroundings, a little scared (ok, maybe a lot), but still feeling that rush of adrenaline that comes when something huge has taken place.

Stumbling around in the dark is not the smart way to get where you are trying to go. You may get there, out of pure luck, but it’s better to have a light, and a map. Or at the very least, a compass.

This Challenge dropped into view, or maybe I stumbled upon it, but however the Universe brought it to me, I am thankful. For it is my map, my compass, my light.

The premise is that you make a list of habits you want to change – either bad habits you are trying to stop, or good habits you are trying to cultivate. Then, for the next 27 days, you focus on those habits, and by the end of the challenge period, you should have adopted them (or quit them, as the case may be).

It helps if you have a group of people who are working on their own habits, to help you through the rough spots, because, let’s face it, if you aren’t cheating yourself, there WILL be rough spots.

I sat down Sunday night and wrote out my list. There were 15 things I wanted to work on – some are hard, some seem like no-brainers, but I need to work on them anyway.

Then Monday I refined my list, and went to work on it. I didn’t do too badly for the first day, or the second day.

I’ve decided to share my list here. And at the end of the 27 days, I will write another post with my results, and my struggles throughout.

So, here is my list of habits that I am working on over the next 25 days (2 days are in the books already!):

1. Workout 6 days/week – 3 of those days have to be at 5AM
2. Get up at 5AM every day (Sunday can be 7AM)
3. Floss Teeth every night
4. Shower & Get dressed, including hair & makeup – whether I’m leaving the house or not!
5. Don’t buy anything I can’t afford to buy with cash
6. Minimum of 2 hours/day, 6 days /week of solid, focused work on BB
7. Write one blog post/day – can be personal or business – just write
8. No chips, no candy, no beer
9. Quit Smoking
10. Run minimum of 3 days/week
11. Listen to PD audio every day
12. Read minimum of one personal development book
13. Drink Shakeology every day

Stay tuned for my results!

Leave a Reply

